

Immun. Reference Labs Standards Committee

CHAIR: Michael Gannett, MLS(ASCP),SBB

PURPOSE: To develop and update Immunohematology Reference Lab Standards.

CHARGES: 1. Obtain input and review existing requirements of Standards for Immunohematology Reference Labs (IRL) according to the revision schedule.

- 2. In coordination with staff, prepare guidance for use in Standards Source and create records of rationales for changing existing requirements.
- 3. Review and respond to requests for variances to or deviations from reference laboratory standards. Forward appeals to committee decisions to the SPC chair for assignment to the Review Committee. Include background information and recommendations as appropriate to assist the committee in its deliberations.
- 4. Develop interim/emergent standards as needed for submission to the Board of Directors.
- 5. Identify quality issues and concerns and forward to staff and the Standards Program Committee.
- 6. Monitor the development of new technologies with potential application to cellular therapies and develop or modify standards when appropriate.
- 7. Coordinate with the IRL Accreditation Committee for revision of the IRL Assessment Tool when changes occur in IRL Standards.
- 8. Evaluate expanding the scope of proficiency testing to include platelets and granulocytes.
- 9. Coordinate the process for the Sally Frank Lecturer selection. Identify and submit online nominations by the last weekday in January. (TMSCC is responsible for ranking top five candidates.) Upon receipt of Board approval, staff will then send official notification and follow-up correspondence.
- 10. Respond as requested to standards questions from the membership in the committee's area of expertise.

Current Personnel as of May 08, 2024

Name	Roles
Chair	
Michael Gannett, MLS(ASCP),SBB	
Liaison	
Mr. Paul M Mansfield, MT(ASCP)SBB	IRLAC Liaison
Willy Flegel	MTLSC Liaison
Member	
Kimberly Gabert	
Marisela Marchan, Care Management,MLS(ASCP)SBB,MSTM	
Ms Roser Hoffman	
Emily Keller, MLS(ASCP)SBB	
Mrs. Katarzyna Bielen	
Mrs. Jennifer O'Connor, MLS(ASCP)SBB	
Lauren Smith	



Name	Roles	
Representative		
Ms Mary Hasan	CMS Rep.	
Sandy Wortman, MLS(ASCP)SBB	ARDP Rep.	
Staff Liaison		
Mr Christopher Bocquet		

Time Commitment:

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.