

Clinical Transfusion Medicine Committee

CHAIR: Ryan Metcalf

PURPOSE: To develop and maintain AABB's role as a leader in establishing and maintaining the highest level of

patient safety, care and support in transfusion therapies. To provide consultations as needed on all facets of issues concerning the overall safety, appropriate management and clinical effectiveness of transfusion

therapies administered to patients.

CHARGES: 1. Recommend new or updating existing clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) for Board consideration.

- 2. Prioritize non-infectious risks of transfusion as identified through Biovigilance Network and other data sources. Report to the Board annually. Coordinate prioritizing infectious vs. non-infectious risks of transfusion in conjunction with Transfusion Transmitted Diseases Committee.
- 3. Maintain the system for committee members to review on an annual basis critical developments in the fields of transfusion alternatives, patient blood management, pediatric hemotherapy, therapeutic apheresis, extracorporeal therapy, age of blood and other related fields of transfusion medicine; prepare an annual summary (due for the July board meeting) including summaries and/or abstracts of these articles/developments that is prioritized for the board's attention.
- 4. Identify to the TMSCC topics for technical guidance documents; participate in or lead the development of these documents as requested by the TMSCC.
- 5. Evaluate the impact of pathogen inactivation technology focusing on the operational aspects of implementation including options and challenges.

Current Personnel as of May 08, 2024

Name	Roles
Chair	
Ryan Metcalf	
CHIEF_MEDICAL_OFFICER	
Dr. Claudia Cohn, MD, PHD	
Consultant	
Brenda Grossman	
Jonathan Waters	
Prof. Michael F. Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPATH, FFPATH	
Junior Committee Member	
Sumedha Arya	
Mischa Covington	
Liaison	
Dr Jessica Jacobson	TTD Liaison
Kerry O'Brien	TMSCC Liaison
Jacqueline Poston	COI Task Force Liaison
Member	
Dr Richard Haspel	
Nabiha Huq Saifee	



Name	Roles
Eric Salazar	
Dr Nicole Zantek	
Dr. Gaurav K. Gupta, MD,PHD	
Jenna Khan	
Dr Alyssa Ziman	
Aaron Hess	
Ruchika Goel, CABP	
Tina Ipe	
Dr. Jennifer C Andrews	
Dr. Moritz Stolla, MD	
Anil Panigrahi, MD,PHD	
Elizabeth Crowe	
Stella T. Chou	
Representative	
Carlos Villa	FDA (OBRR) Rep.
Staff Liaison	
Sharon Carayiannis	

Time Commitment:

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.