

## **Molecular Testing Laboratories Standards Committee**

CHAIR: Willy Flegel

PURPOSE: To develop and update standards for molecular testing laboratories.

**CHARGES:** 1. Obtain input and review existing requirements of Standards for Molecular Testing Laboratories according to the revision schedule.

2. In coordination with staff, prepare guidance for publication in Standards Source and create records of rationales for changes existing requirements.

3. Incorporate universal nomenclature for use in molecular testing into Standards as consensus is achieved within other organizations (ie, ICBG, ISBT).

4. Review and respond to requests for variances to or deviations from molecular laboratory standards. Forward appeals to committee decisions to the SPC chair for assignment to the Review Committee, if necessary. Include background information and recommendations as appropriate to assist the committee in its deliberations.

5. Develop interim/emergent standards as needed for submission to the Board of Directors.

6. Identify quality issues and concerns and forward to staff and the Standards Program Committee.

7. Monitor the development of new technologies with potential application to molecular testing and develop or modify standards when appropriate.

8. Coordinate with the Molecular Testing Laboratories Accreditation Committee for development of an assessment tool when MTL standards are finalized.

9. Respond as requested to standards questions from the membership in the committee's area of expertise.

## Current Personnel as of May 08, 2024

Name	Roles
Chair	
Willy Flegel	
Consultant	
Christof Weinstock, MD	
Junior Committee Member	
SHEETAL MALHOTRA, MD	
Sabisha Shrestha, MS,SBB(ASCP)	
Liaison	
Dr. Patricia Brunker, MD,PHD	MTLAC Liaison
Megan Shaffer, PHD	RTSC Liaison
Michael Gannett, MLS(ASCP),SBB	IRLSC Liaison
Member	
Ms. Mia J. Sullivan	
Rajdeep Das	
Kelly Anderson, MLS(ASCP)SBB,MS	



Name	Roles
Sunitha Vege	
Nirupama Singh, MD,PHD	
Gerald Kellar, MLS(ASCP)SBB,PHD	
<u>Past Chair</u>	
Gregory Denomme	
Representative	
Dr. Margaret A. Keller	ARC/ARDP Rep.
Dr. Zahra Mehdizadeh Kashi, PHD, HCLD	ASHI Rep.
Penny Keller	CMS Rep.
Staff Liaison	
Mr Christopher Bocquet	

Time Commitment: To lea

To learn about the time commitments for this committee, please contact the staff liaison listed in the roster above.