Skip Navigation LinksHome > Membership > Governance and Policies

AABB Governance and Policies

AABB is organized, led and governed in a manner that permits rapid, thoughtful and effective policymaking. Consistent with its commitment to the highest standards of care for patients and donors, the association closely adheres to operating principles and practices that promote ethics and transparency. The Sarbanes-Oxley Act was adopted primarily to restore confidence in publicly traded entities, but AABB has joined other not-for-profit organizations in embracing sections of the act that help ensure accountability and compliance. AABB diligently works to identify and incorporate best practices that help mitigate risk and improve processes.

This section includes some of the guidelines and policies that have been developed to help ensure accountability and compliance, as well as members-only content relating to the organization's volunteer leadership, including board members profiles, descriptions of AABB committees, and association election information.  

AABB Code of Ethics (PDF)
AABB Bylaws (PDF)
AABB Firewall Policy (PDF)
AABB Policy on Conflicts of Interest and Confidentiality (PDF)
AABB Trademark Usage Guidelines (PDF)

2017 – 2018 AABB Board of Directors

Mary Beth Bassett, BS, MT(ASCP)Blood Systems, Inc. – President
Zbigniew M. Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD, FCAPDartmouth-Hitchcock Hospital Center – Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth –  Past President
Michael F. Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath, FFPathNational Blood Service Blood and Transplant – Radcliffe Oxford University Hospital –  President-Elect
Dana Devine, PhDCanadian Blood Services – Vice President
Steven Sloan, MD, PhD – Boston Children's Hospital – Secretary 
Zbigniew M. Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD, FCAPDartmouth-Hitchcock Hospital Center – Geisel School of Medicine at DartmouthBoston Children's Hospital – Treasurer
Julie Allickson, PhD, MS, MT(ASCP)Institute For Regenerative Medicine
P. Dayand Borge Jr., MD, PhDAmerican Red Cross Blood Services
Barbara Bryant, MDUniversity of Texas Medical Branch
Melanie Champion, MBA, MT(ASCP)SBB, HPYale-New Haven Hospital Blood Bank
Steven Frank, MDJohns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Brian Gannon, BA, MBAGulf Coast Regional Blood Center
David Green, MSABlood Systems (BSI)
Debra Kessler, RN, MSNew York Blood Center
Steven Spitalnik, MDColumbia University
David Stroncek, MDNational Institutes of Health
Aaron Tobian, MDJohns Hopkins Hospital
Jeffrey Winters, MDMayo Clinic-Rochester
Debra BenAvram – AABB CEO